RSS Feed

A Peek Inside a Vegan’s Freezer

I look at this and see endless possibilities. Okay, so now you all know that I’m not the healthiest vegan, there’s a lot of mock meat in there, and yes, I like vegan comfort food. I like to think of my freezer as a big, comfortable, vegan hug. Or sweatpants – it’s a lazy Sunday in sweatpants kind of freezer.

The container behind the tater tots is Whole Food’s mushroom gravy, by the way (since this photo was taken, I’ve added three containers of Tofurky Savory Giblet Gravy to the party – it’s on sale). Gravy tots, anyone?

The bag in front is filled with my vegetable scraps. Every time I cut vegetables, I stick the stubs or any other cast-offs into this bag for vegetable broth! The bag is filling up, so it’ll be broth stock-piling time very soon – expect a post. (Not pictured: frozen fruit – smoothies! – on the door shelves.) Healthy things – believe it!

What’s in your vegan freezer?

Spoiler alert: by the time this week is over, the Tofurky Vegetarian Roast and gravy will have gone bye-bye, I’ve got a very special Thanksgiving in March (ThanksgivSpring?) recipe in mind, and I think you’re going to like it.

4 responses »

  1. Hahahah. Of course there are TOTS.

    Reply
  2. That could have been a picture of my freezer if there was Tofutti Cones & Almond Bark Vanilla Ice Cream.

    Reply
  3. Zakiyyah Moorehead

    Don’t beat yourself up about the mock meats, we are the same way. I think in general Vegans are healthier than those who aren’t vegan so hold your head up and enjoy your food!!

    Reply
  4. I used to eat that mock meat until I had an allergy test to see what else besides milk and wheat causes severe eczema on my hands and it turns out soy tested positive too. How I miss those products. Are there any mock meat around that doesn’t have wheat or soy? I make my own veggie burgers and cake things but are there any you can buy so I can be lazy? Your freezer looks yummy.

    Reply

Leave a comment